This section brought to you by:

Cutting, Outside the Pen

NCHA Names Chuck Smith Executive Director

Written by NCHA Press Release on .

chucksmithChuck SmithThe National Cutting Horse Association (NCHA) announced that it has reached an agreement with Chuck Smith to continue to serve as the association's interim executive director during the remaining term of his presidency and to assume full time executive director duties after the NCHA Convention in June of 2017.

Remembering KD Shorty

Written by Hannah Harrel on .

KDShorty EQuirk 07HPKD Shorty & Elizabeth Quirk • Photo by Hart Photos

In January, KD Shorty was laid to rest at the age of 16. For many years, KD Shorty and Elizabeth Quirk formed an inseparable and memorable team in the cutting arena, where the mare’s foals are continuing to shine.

Grace Vangilder Awarded Amateur Rider of the Year

Written by Kristin Pitzer on .

GVangilder 16KPGrace Vangilder (third from left) received the Amateur Rider of the Year Award during the 2016 National Cutting Horse Association Futurity. • Photo by Kelsey PecsekWhether they have been in the sport for only a few years or longer, amateur cutters work hard to learn and succeed, and the top amateur rider of the year is recognized for his or her efforts. The family of Amy Bell, a cutter who passed away unexpectedly May 26, 2014, shortly before she was supposed to show at the Breeder’s Invitational, endowed the award in 2015.

AAEP Foundation Awards $75,000 Coyote Rock Ranch Veterinary Scholarship

Written by Press Release on .

AlainaKringenAlaina Kringen is the newest recipient of a veterinary scholarship from Coyote Rock Ranch. • Photo courtesy of the AAEPAlaina Kringen, a fourth-year veterinary student at Iowa State University, will be awarded the $75,000 Coyote Rock Ranch Veterinary Scholarship by the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP) Foundation.

Kringen joins American Quarter Horse Foundation recipients Josh Singer and Jenni Wright in receiving a Coyote Rock Ranch scholarship. Each intends to pursue a career in equine-focused veterinary medicine after graduation. Kringen, Singer and Wright will be recognized Dec. 4 during the 62nd AAEP Annual Convention in Orlando, Florida.