Bama Jelly is one of the inductees to the 2022 Horse Hall of Fame. • Photo by S. Sylvester

NCHA Announces Hall of Fame Inductees

Every year, the National Cutting Horse Association (NCHA) recognizes the achievements of a select group of individuals and horses by honoring them with an induction into the NCHA Hall of Fame. The NCHA Members Hall of Fame inductees are nominated based on their contributions to the sport of cutting, among many additional factors, and are reviewed by a selection committee. Please join us in congratulating the 2023 NCHA Members Hall of Fame class of inductees: 

Kathy Daughn of Cuero, Texas
Paula Gaughan of Las Vegas, Nevada
Rock Hedlund of Wilton, California
Teddy Johnson of Whitesboro, Texas; awarded posthumously
Ron Pietrafeso of Elbert, Colorado

Additionally, each year, horses and riders are welcomed into the NCHA Hall of Fame based on their lifetime earnings or accomplishments in the arena in one of three categories: Horse, Non-Pro Riders, and Open Riders. Joining the Hall of Fame from their 2022 achievements are the following: 

2022 Horse Hall of Fame
Bama Jelly owned by Madalyn Cowart 
Clays Little Kit Cat owned by Dawn Chapman
Duramax Dually owner Milner Enterprise LLC 
Somethingtobelievein owned by Brett & Jody McGlothlin 
Spooked By A Cat owned by Carol Anderson Ward 
Third Edge owned by Teton Ridge

2022 Non-Pro Riders Hall of Fame
Dawn Chapman of Chandler, Arizona 
Debbie Day of Reno, Nevada
Rieta Dufurrena of Gainesville, Texas
Les Jack of Rocanville, Saskatchewan, Canada
Melissa Lyons of Iola, Texas
Alexa Stent of Aledo, Texas
Kathleen Strain of White River, South Dakota
Bret Wayne Parsons of Carlock, Illinois

2022 Open Riders Hall of Fame
Eugene (Dell) Bell of Lake Kiowa, Texas
Travis Rempel of Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Steve Schlesinger of Lockeford, California
Brent Erickson of Wilton, California
Russell Elrod of Perrin, Texas

All inductees will be honored at the Hall of Fame Gala held on Saturday, June 24, 2023, at the NCHA Annual Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada. Additional information will be forthcoming. Tickets will be available in early April at Congratulations to all inductees!