The Firecracker Open Bridle Spectacular Champions JJ Cat O Lena and Aaron Brookshire. * Photo by Performance Horse Photography, courtesy of CRCA

The Firecracker Crowns Horse Show Champions

The competition was hot at the this year’s The Firecracker, held by the Colorado Reined Cowhorse Association (CRCA).

With National Reined Cow Horse Association (NRCHA) futurity, derby, spectaculars and horse show classes combined, The Firecracker dispersed $51,000 in added prize money to entries who traveled from multiple states. 

Ashley Deacon won the Derby Open on The Royalty, and Chris Dawson earned the Futurity Open Championship with Pride And Joyy at the show held June 28-July 3 at the Wyoming State Fairgrounds in Douglas, Wyoming.

“The growth we’ve seen in Douglas is incredible with entries increasing 30 percent over last year,” said CRCA President Tawny Fye. “Even with having a large show in an outdoor venue we really managed to have enjoyable days, cooperative weather and an accommodating crew that made good ground, good cattle and a smooth production possible for all the contestants. We had people come show from Nebraska, Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and of course Colorado, which made The Firecracker an awesome affiliate show in a beautiful part of the country. 

Plus, our sponsors contribute so much to make great added money and awards possible, as well as the Fourth of July Celebration with a live band and awesome buffet courtesy of Discount Tire and Wilson and Susan Lyle. The party really capped off an enjoyable week!”

Firecracker Bridle Spectacular and Horse Show Champions

Open Bridle Spectacular Champion: JJ Cat O Lena (Bet Hesa Cat x Christa Lena Hickory x Doc’s Hickory) ridden by Aaron Brookshire for Khyman Taylor, 434, $802.20

Non Pro Bridle Spectacular Champion: Nicole Westfall riding A Spoonful Of Jonez (Travelin Jonez x A Spoonful O Sugar x Hes A Peptospoonful) owned by Desiree or Jeff Westfall, 441.5, $554.60 

Limited Non Pro Bridle Spectacular & Limited Non Pro Bridle Champion: Denille LePlatt riding Hannas Metallic Rey (Metallic Cat x Reyhanna x Dual Rey) owned by Dustin LePlatt, 429.5/$288.5, $273/$369

Non Pro Boxing Spectacular Champion: Lucinda David riding Rubys Reypeat (Reys Dual Badger x Ruby Tuesday DNA x Peppy San Badger) owned by Lucinda David, 436, $628.95

Open Stock Horse Challenge Champion: Metallic My Way (Metallic Cat x Reys My Way x Dual Rey) owned and ridden by Wes Housler, 571.5, $324

Non Pro Stock Horse Challenge Champion: Bonnie Wheatley riding Wright On Hickory (Hes Wright On x Hickorys Miracle x Doc’s Hickory) owned by Scot & Bonnie Wheatley, 563.5, $256

Open Bridle, Intermediate Open Bridle, Novice Horse Bridle Champion: Metallic My Way (Metallic Cat x Reys My Way x Dual Rey) owned and ridden by Wes Housler, 289.5, $841/$380/$100

Limited Open Bridle Champion: MC Reyn Or Shine (Shiners Nickle x Tootsie Rey x Dual Rey) ridden by Stephan Heim, owned by Hartwood Farms, 286.5, $415

Open Two Rein Champion: Would Happen Once (Once In A Blu Boon x Ginnin Woody x Nitas Wood) ridden by Jeff Veitch, owned by Leta Veitch, 286, $636

Intermediate Non Pro Bridle & Select Non Pro Bridle Champion: Cheryl Swanson riding Steady Step (RC Fancy Step x DA Steady Cat Dancer x Steady Tradition), owned by Cheryl Swanson, 285.5, $387.5/$90

Non Pro Two Rein Champion: Kristy Kay Miller riding Glamour Royallty (One Time Royalty x Kitna Rey x Dual Rey), owned by Kristy Kay Miller, 291, $360