Ten veterinary students will receive $5,000 scholarships through Merck Animal Health and the Oakwood Foundation. * Photo by Molly Montag

Ten Equine Veterinary Students to Receive $5,000 Scholarships

Several veterinary students from across the nation recently received $5,000 scholarships to pursue their dreams in equine medicine.

The students received the scholarships from Merck Animal Health and the Oakwood Foundation. The program is administered by The Foundation for the Horse, which is the charitable arm of the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP).

To be eligible for these programs, applicants must be second- or third-year veterinary students dedicated to equine medicine and active within any of the AAEP’s 38 student chapters at colleges of veterinary medicine in the U.S., Canada, and the Caribbean. The scholarships are awarded to students for their academic excellence, leadership in their school and AAEP student chapter, and long-term goals. 

The 10 recipients will be recognized for their awards during the American Association of Equine Practitioners’ (AAEP) Virtual Convention taking place online in early December. 

2020 Scholarship Winners

The recipients for the Merck Animal Health Scholarships are:  

  • Briana Hamamoto-Hardman, University of California, Davis, class of 2022 
  • Bethanie Lewis, North Carolina State University, class of 2021 
  • Kendall Milkey, University of Pennsylvania, class of 2021
  • Bailey Stolsworth, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, class of 2022 
  • Katelyn Williams, University of Georgia, class of 2022 

 “We are incredibly proud to support these five future equine veterinarians through our ongoing partnership with the AAEP and its charitable arm, The Foundation for the Horse,” said D. Craig Barnett, DVM, Merck Animal Health director of equine technical services. “These students are exceptional leaders and I’m confident that they will help move our mission forward by advancing the science of healthier animals in the years to come.” 

The recipients for the Oakwood Foundation Scholarships are: 

  • Tara Doherty, University of California, Davis, class of 2022 
  • Gabriella Kawahisa Piquini, Colorado State University, class of 2021 
  • Virginia Logue, University of Minnesota, class of 2022 
  • Mikayla Swirski, University of Saskatchewan, class of 2021 
  • Sara Tufts, North Carolina State University, class of 2021 

“I am thrilled to continue to partner with The Foundation to offer this opportunity to benefit future equine veterinarians,” said Renee Grisham of Oakwood Foundation. “It’s a delight to see the impact these future veterinarians are making on the industry and horse health.” 

For more information about these programs and other scholarships offered through The Foundation, visit