Men with an award
John Kratzer, center, was named the 2018 winner of the Ed & Modine Smith Memorial Sportsmanship Award by the Pacific Coast Cutting Horse Association. He's pictured with 2017 winner Lee Brooks, left, and PCCHA Executive Director Phil Benedum, right. • Photo by Molly Montag.

John Kratzer Wins Ed & Modine Smith Award

Each year, the Pacific Coast Cutting Horse Association (PCCHA) celebrates members who have made lasting contributions to the association and the sport of cutting. This year, it honored new members of its Hall of Fame and Youth Hall of Fame, and presented several special awards.

The association’s highest honor for sportsmanship – the Ed & Modine Smith Memorial Sportsmanship Award – went to avid cutter, real estate investor and developer John Kratzer.

Kratzer, of Rancho Santa Fe, California, is CEO of JMI Realty and has been cutting since the 1990s. He posted his first checks to Equi-Stat in 1993, riding the mare Dry Tassle in weekend events at the Rose Country, Oil Belt, American Mid-Tex and Ark-La-Tex cutting horse association shows.

He won his first check at a PCCHA event in 2001 and continues to show in the association. Last year, Kratzer won the PCCHA Futurity’s Classic/Challenge Non-Pro Championship with Smooth Play Kit. In all, he has an Equi-Stat record of $277,870.

“I love this sport, and I love the people in this sport,” Kratzer said during his acceptance speech on Oct. 12 at the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa in Las Vegas. “This is the greatest group of people in the world, and it’s my escape and where I go to spend time with people I love and to get away from the rat race in my daily life. So, thank you very much. I really appreciate it.”

Several other members were honored for their contributions:

  • PCCHA Youth Hall of Fame: Bear Davis
  • Tim Smith Showmanship Award: Phil Hanson
  • Clark Miller Sportsmanship Award: Mia Webster and Kacey Garfinkel
  • Special Recognition: Roo Hide
  • PCCHA Hall of Fame: Terry and Stephanie Larrabee; Luke Bakey; and Paula Gaughn

This is the 39th year the Ed & Modine Smith Memorial Sportsmanship Award has been given out. It was previously known as the Ed Smith Memorial Sportsmanship Award. Modine’s name was added last year after her passing at age 94 in July 2017.

For more news and information from the Western performance horse industry, subscribe to Quarter Horse News.