IEA Announces 2018-2019 Youth Board Members

The Interscholastic Equestrian Association (IEA) announced the elected members of the 2018-2019 IEA Youth Board. The Youth Board was created by the IEA’s Education Committee in 2016 and is governed by Adult Advisors Shara Prieskorn (Membership Office Coordinator), Simon Towns (Zone Captain), Sue Wentzel (National Steward) and Kimber Whanger (Communications Coordinator), as well as IEA alumni Hannah Bentz and Aubrey Braham.

The IEA Youth Board is structured with one student representative from each of the 10 Hunt Seat Zones and four representatives from among the nine Western Regions.   

Each of the following representatives submitted their application for candidacy with a resume and two letters of recommendation. After verifying each application, an election was held in each zone, and the members of that zone elected their representative.

“The IEA Youth Board has become an invaluable addition to our organization,” stated IEA Co-Founder and Executive Director Roxane Durant. “This program gives adult IEA members and leadership an avenue to hear the youth voice and to offer an opportunity for mentorship, volunteerism and leadership growth to IEA youth members. As in previous years, we have found the Youth Board to be fantastic advocates for IEA and equestrian sport in general, and we look forward to another fun Youth Board year.”

The 2018-2019 IEA Youth Board Representatives are as follows:

  • Zone 1: Kasi Ray, a junior from Hampden, Massachusetts, and a member of ABF Equine
  • Zone 2: Amelia von Korff, a senior from Port Washington, New York, and a member of Wildwood-Goldcoast
  • Zone 3: Emily Grace Swinson, a sophomore from Sanford, North Carolina, and a member of Fox Run Equestrian
  • Zone 4: Kelly Dickson, a senior from Atlanta, Georgia, and a member of Fortitude Farm
  • Zone 5: Emma Carrol, a senior from Cincinnati, Ohio, and a member of Childress Rodgers Stables Equestrian Team
  • Zone 7: Celeste Fazioli, a senior from Seabrook, Texas, and a member of Blackjack Lane
  • Zone 8: Emily Johnson, a junior from Chandler, Arizona, and a member of Scottsdale Equestrian Team
  • Zone 10: Alex Bischoff, a senior from Simi Valley, California, and a member of Elvenstar
  • Zone 11: Allison Dodd, a senior from Allison Park, Pennsylvania, and a member of Candy Acres Lane
  • Region 5-1: Ava Sinclair, a sophomore from LaPorte, Indiana, and a member of Hidden Hills Equestrians
  • Region 4: Claire Pound, a senior from Columbia, South Carolina, and a member of Hammond School Equestrian Team
  • Region 4: Maddie Hawkins, a junior from Murfreesboro, Tennessee, and a member of Team Need A Hand
  • Region 11: Kaylee Luckiewicz, a sophomore from Turnersville, New Jersey, and a member of Saddlebrook Equestrian Team
  • Alumni Representative: Hannah Bentz, from Boca Raton, Florida, and a former member of Wall Street Farm Wellington IEA Team
  • Alumni Representative: Aubrey Braham, from Grove City, Pennsylvania, and former member of Grove City Area Equestrian Team