More Than 5,300 Saddle Up in San Antonio at AAEP Convention

The American Association of Equine Practitioners’ (AAEP) 63rd Annual Convention, held Nov. 17-21 in San Antonio, Texas, dispensed the essential knowledge, emerging diagnostics and newest treatments across the medical spectrum to help practitioners provide optimal care to their equine patients. Convention attendance comprised 5,344 veterinary professionals, students, guests and exhibitors from across the United States, Canada and 36 other countries.

The meeting offered 132 hours of continuing education in core areas of equine medicine, including imaging, infectious disease management, internal medicine, lameness and reproduction. In addition, renowned equine dental/sinus and upper respiratory surgeon Padraic Dixon, MVB, Ph.D., FRCVS, DEVDC, presented the prestigious Frank J. Milne State-of-the-Art Lecture while acclaimed communications executive, author and work-life balance expert Nigel Marsh delivered the keynote presentation.

“The program assembled by Program Chair Dr. Margo Macpherson and the Educational Programs Committee provided practical information across a broad range of modalities that will help practitioners administer effective and efficient care to their patients,” said AAEP Executive Director David Foley. “In addition, new ‘Meet the Expert’ sessions allowed attendees to obtain tips, advice and other valuable information in a small group format with leading minds in the areas of ophthalmology, theriogenology, behavior and pulmonary disease.”

In addition to the educational program, the convention offered a variety of social and networking opportunities at which practitioners and students could expand their professional footprint, and a trade show featuring 351 exhibiting companies showcasing the newest products and services for equine practice.

Installation of new officers and board members

Margo Macpherson, DVM, MS, DACT, of Gainesville, Florida, was installed as the 64th president. She is joined as a 2018 officer by Jeffrey T. Berk, VMD, MRCVS, of Lexington, Kentucky, president-elect; David Frisbie, DVM, DACVS, DACVSMR, of Fort Collins, Colorado, vice president; Lisa Metcalf, DVM, MS, DACT, of Sherwood, Oregon, treasurer; and R. Reynolds Cowles, Jr., DVM, of Free Union, Virginia, immediate past president.

New members of the board of directors are Duane Chappell, DVM, of Owingsville, Kentucky; Foster Northrop, DVM, of Louisville, Kentucky; and Deborah Spike-Pierce, DVM, MBA, of Lexington, Kentucky.

Presentation of annual awards

Five AAEP members and the oldest non-profit horse sanctuary in the United States were honored during the President’s Luncheon on Nov. 20.

  • The Lavin Cup: Ryerss Farm for Aged Equines
  • Distinguished Educator Award – Academic: Peter Timoney, FRCVS
  • Distinguished Life Member Award: Harry Werner, VMD
  • Sage Kester “Beyond the Call” Award: Nancy Collins, DVM
  • President’s Award: Stuart Brown, DVM, and Amy Grice, VMD, MBA

Generation of funds for the AAEP Foundation

Combined proceeds from a benefit golf tournament, silent and live auctions, an “open mic” night and the Collegiate Challenge – won by Texas A&M University – raised $112,000 for the AAEP Foundation’s mission to improve the welfare of the horse.

The AAEP’s 64th Annual Convention will be held in San Francisco, California, Dec. 1-5, 2018.

The American Association of Equine Practitioners, headquartered in Lexington, Kentucky, was founded in 1954 as a non-profit organization dedicated to the health and welfare of the horse. Currently, AAEP reaches more than 5 million horse owners through its more than 9,000 members worldwide and is actively involved in ethics issues, practice management, research and continuing education in the equine veterinary profession and horse industry.