AQHYA Officers and Directors Named for 2017-18

The AQHYA leadership team has been determined for 2017 and 2018. • Photo courtesy of the AQHA

American Quarter Horse Youth Association (AQHYA) regional directors and five national officers for the 2017-18 term were elected July 13 at the Bank of America Youth Excellence Seminar in Amarillo, Texas.

AQHYA Executive Committee members and regional directors play a major role in the youth association by planning events, participating in community service projects and spreading the word about American Quarter Horses, youth activities and AQHYA. They also represent AQHYA throughout the year at functions and events nationwide.

Each of AQHYA’s 11 regions can elect three directors at the Bank of America Youth Excellence Seminar. From those directors, delegates elect five national officers.

Throughout the year, the officers and directors network with horse enthusiasts to ensure a successful future for the industry. AQHYA Executive Committee members and directors set goals to grow youth involvement in every aspect of the equine world, uphold the integrity of the breed and work toward ensuring the future of the industry.

AQHYA national officers and regional directors have a unique opportunity to develop leadership skills to enhance their AQHYA experience and all of their future endeavors. All youth are encouraged to get involved.

AQHA Executive Committee

  • President: Ty Cornelius of Mt. Pleasant, Arkansas
  • First Vice President: Kylie Good of East Berlin, Pennsylvania
  • Second Vice President: Caleb Sturgeon of Beloit, Ohio
  • Executive Member: Alan Hinds of Lawrence, Kansas
  • Executive Member: Olivia Tordoff of Powell, Ohio

AQHYA Directors

  • Region 1
    • Anwyn Deeks of Snohomish, Washington
    • Isabella Laguna of Snoqualmie, Washington
    • Elsie Naruszewicz of Monroe, Washington
  • Region 2
    • Delaney Dickens of Omaha, Nebraska
  • Region 3
    • Shelby Cochran of Oxford, Iowa
    • Justin Eddy of Rocheport, Missouri
    • Gabrielle Marty of Solon, Iowa
  • Region 4
    • Lily Atkinson of Spring Lake, Michigan
    • Ellexxah Maxwell of West Mansfield, Ohio
    • Maggie Sever of Hebron, Indiana
  • Region 5
    • Trinity Packard of Slatington, Pennsylvania
    • Austin Ralls of Catlett, Virginia
  • Region 7
    • Morgan Farrell of Mesa, Arizona
    • Mackenzie Wachtel of Deeth, Nevada
  • Region 8
    • Charles Lee of McAllen, Texas
    • Sierra Walter of Hydro, Oklahoma
  • Region 9
    • Madison Alford of Philadelphia, Mississippi
    • Bailey Carwile of Kilmichael, Mississippi
  • Region 10
    • Taylor Leone of Raleigh, North Carolina
    • Nicole Williams of St. Augustine, Florida