2015 Resistol Rookies of the Year

While many of the top Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA) competitors have multiple chances throughout their careers to win gold buckles and titles in the events they compete in, there is one award that a competitor has only one shot at: the coveted Resistol Rookie of the Year.

This award is given out to the first-year card member in each event who is the highest money-earner at the end of the season, including the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (WNFR). Resistol, one of the original sponsors of the PRCA and official hat of the WNFR, celebrated the 2015 Resistol Rookies with a special banquet to honor each of the recipients.

The rookies received hotel rooms, tickets to the rodeo and airfare to attend the occasion. For the first time in history, four rookies qualified for the WNFR, making the race to win the saddle bronc and barrel racing rookie titles go on to the end of the WNFR. CoBurn Bradshaw and Zeke Thurston both made some amazing rides in the saddle bronc riding, with Bradshaw marking 90 points to win both a round and the Resistol Rookie title. In the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association barrel race, rookies Jackie Ganter and Vickie Carter competed at the WNFR for the barrel racing rookie title, with Ganter taking the win.

At the rookie banquet, each Resistol Rookie was presented with a custom 20X Resistol Black Gold hat, trophy carrying case, fully-tooled Cactus trophy saddle, Yeti travel cooler, Resistol Rookie jacket from Carol Leather, four Resistol shirts and two pairs of jeans from Wrangler. World Champions Tuff Hedeman and Luke Branquinho and past Resistol Rookie of the Year Cash Myers addressed the well-attended event of Resistol Rookies, their families and friends and industry friends of Resistol. Their messages praised the 2015 Resistol Rookies’ hard work, encouraging them that their titles were only the beginning and to set their goals high. PRCA Commissioner Karl Stressman and Resistol General Manager Ricky Bolin also congratulated the Resistol Rookies, noting that they were the future of their sports and that many Resistol Rookies go on to a lifelong career in the PRCA with several going on to win World Championship titles. The Resistol Rookies of the Year were recognized in the arena during Round 8 of the WNFR and were presented their champion buckles.

Resistol plans to make this an annual event and will be closely following the 2016 Resistol Rookie Race through print and social media. Congratulations to the 2015 Resistol Rookies of the Year:

All-Around: Jace Melvin
Saddle Bronc: CoBurn Bradshaw
Team Roping Header: Cody Snow
Team Roping Heeler: Quinn Kesler
Tie-Down Roping: Trey Young
Steer Wrestling: JD Struxness
Steer Roping: Tom Smith
Bareback: Wyatt Denny
Barrel Racing: Jackie Ganter
Bull Riding: Bryce Barrios

For more information check out www.resistol.com or www.facebook.com/resistolhat.